
Of course Scott and I get out and do our best to clear the snow from our very steep driveway. On day 1 after the storm, Scott manages to clear one pathway from the top to the bottom of the driveway. This took one hour. On day 2, the same. On day 3 our next door neighbor, whom we share a driveway with, came out to help (which he might as well have just stayed inside drinking a beer for all that he did). On day 4, Scott knocked out most of the driveway and I helped a little there as well as doing the path from the front door to the mailbox. So, about the time that I finish the path from the front door, it starts to snow... and snow... and snow. Our weathermen (who are generally very accurate) predicted that we would get a dusting of snow. Well, 5+ hours later, we had another 3.5" which totally destroyed any work that Scott and I had just done. I guess I shouldn't be complaining too much. I did get a good workout.

So, I'll try and sum this story up... We were all trapped in our house. Scott was able to work from home which is a good thing and a bad thing. Good that he doesn't have to drive in to work, bad because this means I have to keep the kids quiet (good luck with that) while he's on conference calls and bad because I can't get on the computer or watch TV. I know, I know... I should find something constructive to do with my time (like baking or cleaning or something...whatever). On day 3 post-snow we started to run out of milk and desperation was beginning to set in. Scott made it out to get groceries and came home safely. On day 4 post-snow, Scott went over to check on our old house to make sure the pipes hadn't burst or anything. On day 5 post-snow I couldn't stand it anymore... I had to get out... somewhere... anywhere! So, we loaded up the kids and went out to eat and then we went to get some more milk. Fun stuff! Up to this point, I hadn't seen any other adults besides Scott for days!


Needless to say, I've had it with snow for the rest of the year. As of today, school has been out for 6 consecutive days and after we receive this next round of snow... which is supposed to be 5-10", I'm assuming school will probably be closed for the rest of the week. That's epic! I heard a weatherman say that 17.5" is twice the amount of snow we receive in an entire year! If we receive only 3 more inches of snow, it will be the snowiest season in Oklahoma on record since they started keeping records 100 years ago! Oklahomans are just not used to this kind of weather. We can't drive in it. We obviously aren't prepared for it. I mean, for Pete's sake... we didn't get mail for 5 days and we haven't had trash service for a week (my trash is out today, but it remains to be seen if it will actually be picked up!). At this point, I think I'll just opt out of the snow thank you very much!
So, on a lighter note... it was beautiful. That can't be denied. And I didn't really have to drive in it, which is another plus. So, maybe it really isn't that bad. No... who am I kidding?! I'm going nuts inside my own house! All I want my sanity back!
